Gaming Experience with Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro

miel echon
5 min readMay 20, 2021

I had to create 3 blog post and share it on the same day to make sure that everything you need to know about Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro is covered. In this post, we’ll tackle my gaming experience with the Note 8 Pro. You can see the other parts of this review on the links below:

  • Overview: Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro — Affordable Gaming Phone
  • Camera Review of Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro

I noticed that my blog for this review is super long, so I cut it into three parts. I’m also planning to have some kind of review for productivity features of this phone, so if you’re interested to see that just let me know.

Redmi Note 8 Pro — A Gaming Phone?

A lot of legit gamers would probably double think about that question. As a gamer, you’re probably aware that a lot of us prefer Snapdragon to Mediatek. This release is quite shocking for many as it is the first Redmi phone that is released with Mediatek (Helio G90T).

Mediatek has some limitations and I can attest to that. You can read the Overview of Redmi Note 8 Pro to know more about it.

But despite the limitations, the gaming experience has never suffered from that.

When I initially got the phone, I decided to have the Asphalt 9 to test the gaming experience. To my surprise, the app is not compatible with the device. My husband uses Redmi Note 7 (Snapdragon 660) and he can download the app.

I got disappointed at first but after few days it became available, so you should be able to play that game by now.

Redmi Note 8 Pro vs Redmi Note 7

They claim that Mediatek Helio G90T 12nm is almost performing well as the Snapdragon 855. Well, for gaming I should say it’s better than Snapdragon 660. I cannot attest to the Snapdragon 855 since I don’t have a phone with that chipset. Hopefully, someone sends me one, hahaha.

But my husband’s Redmi Note 7 runs with Snapdragon 660, and I found out that it doesn’t support the High graphics setting on Call of Duty. Not sure if the issue is the phone itself but his phone only had up to Medium settings.

Meanwhile, my Redmi Note 8 Pro can smoothly run with High Graphics Settings on Call of Duty.

I also play Mobile Legends on High graphics without any hiccups. I saw that Ultra settings are now available on Mobile Legends but on my phone, it’s greyed out. Not sure if it’s still in beta or if it’s not really supported on my device, but to those who know please leave a comment.

Connectivity Experience

Upon seeing other reviews, it says that the device can simultaneously connect between 2 Wi-Fi bands (2.4 GHz and 5 GHz). However, based on experience it’s not performing well. The connectivity through Wi-Fi always leads me to lose a game due to an unstable connection.

When I was playing at my friend’s house using their Wi-Fi the issue doesn’t occur.

I saw their modem and it’s an old PLDT Fibr Modem which is definitely a 2.4 GHz band.

Since my home router, the Tenda AC11 (which BTW I reviewed in the past) is using combined SSID for 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz, I realized I had to separate them to fix the connectivity issues.

I had to connect to 5 GHz to get the best Wi-Fi experience on this phone.

It is also good with 2.4 GHz but it’s not advisable to use dual-band when playing games. Browsing was quite fine on dual-band.

LTE Uhm, don’t ask me it’s not awesome at home. But then again browsing is perfect on LTE. It hits up to 4G+ but idunno. Will update you on this when I go somewhere that has good LTE connectivity.

Device temperature when gaming

The Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro claims that the gaming processor is equipped with LiquidCool technology. I suppose that they aren’t allowed to fake that. But I played and streamed on the phone, I noticed that the temperature of the phone isn’t that high.

It’s definitely fine, compared with iPhone 6 — it’s getting really hot.

I also tried playing while charging and it’s still fine. There are times that I auto-farm on Ragnarok M for a long-time and that’s the only time I could feel that it’s getting hot especially on the upper side of the phone.

Because of the glass body, I strongly suggest using a case for this device because our bare hands cause temperature increase on devices (based on my experience).

BTW, follow us on Facebook, Twitch, and/or Omlet to watch our live streams.

Built-In Game Speed Booster on Redmi Note 8 Pro

To MIUI developers thanks for having this feature please enhance it more.

Thanks to this built-in functionality, I don’t have to turn on DND and keep on forgetting about turning it off.

This feature simply allows gamers to have prioritized bandwidth and distraction-free gaming. I also love the fact that there are added features to browse the web and Facebook while playing. This can be useful sometimes.

In the screenshot below, I added an arrow to the button that allows me to turn off the screen while the game is running. I use it when farming on Ragnarok M. It saves battery and lessens the heating of the phone.

My final thoughts about my Gaming Experience with Redmi Note 8 Pro

Gaming on this phone is really fun. I appreciate LCD panels than OLED because I have friends who always complain about battery issues and the durability of OLED when using for heavy gaming.

The Mediatek Helio G90T didn’t really disappoint me with the overall gaming experience.

We have played Mobile Legends, Call of Duty, Ragnarok M, Asphalt 9, and Minecraft on this phone — all in high graphic settings, and yet we never experienced any issues.

The only thing that I didn’t like about it is the issue it gave me about connecting with Dual-Band Wi-Fi. I’m not so sure if that will always be the case, but based on my troubleshooting, it was fixed when I separated the SSID of each band.

FYI, my iPhone 6 and Redmi Note 7 didn’t have the same issue with dual-bands.

I hope you find this review helpful. If you do please share this, like, follow us, or share your thoughts. You can also suggest some games we can try and I’ll update you with the experience.

See you on all in my next review.

It’s on drafts, it’s really old.

--

--